Bobbywashere Art blog

Digging up the old paintings

Posted on: August 21, 2008

Thought it was about time I dug up the old paintings before filling this blog with new ones. These 3 were created in the late 90’s whilst at Art College. I was heavily influenced at the time by ‘Super Realism’ and airbrush art most notably Philip Castle and Michael English.

42cm x 31cm, Acrylic ink and pencil on board (1997)

42cm x 31cm, Acrylic ink and pencil on board (1997)

These paintings were all about focusing on inner city details. All my paintings usually contain allot more vibrancy than the original subject matter. I like the idea of making even a road surface appear more appealing than it actual is. Artistic license I believe they call it.  

42cm x 31cm, Acrylic ink & pencil on board

42cm x 31cm, Acrylic ink & pencil on board

True to my airbrush influences and artistic naivety I introduced a bit of airbrush shine into this representation of a manhole cover. Nice touch of chewing gum stuck in between the raised iron. No symbolic meaning behind this art other than a representaion of a man made subject matter. 
42cm x 31cm, Acrylic ink & pencil on board (1997)
42cm x 31cm, Acrylic ink & pencil on board (1997)

You will notice that all three have a slighty cartoon feel to them, you may be able to see this across all my artwork old and new posted on this blog…

5 Responses to "Digging up the old paintings"

neat! i really like the gum on the middle piece. it keeps things interesting. where did you go to art college?

Yeah glad you like the middle one, people tend to rate the first painting with the double yellow lines the most.

Created these when I was about 17 at Art College so long time ago now but I still think they hold up well today.

Was lucky enough to attend art college in Leeds (UK) from the age of 14.

Bobby M

If I had two beans to rub together I’d be asking what you’d want for this painting – I’m just about to venture into my first painting for approx. erm… 17 years actually – vector to reality is a large jump – but I have to leave my soul destroying graphic design career far behind. Great work.

I meant the gutter/yellow lines image btw.

Hi Paul

Thank you for the interest in my paintings, I’ve not put any displayed on this blog for sale (as of yet anyway!).

Hoping when I have completed a few more to hire out a temporary space and hold my own exhibition. Then might put a few up for sale, not too fussed about passing gallery strict criteria’s or tailoring my work to there clientele buying requirements, not to mention the 50% commission they expect.

Had quick look at your blog see you have a very Pop thing going on over their. Its good your getting back to what you prob started off doing…all about cycles you know.

Bobby Mookini

Leave a Reply

Art & Artist Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Scoutle

Connect with me at Scoutle.com

Add to Technorati Favorites

blogarama - the blog directory

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

RSS Delicious Social Bookmarks

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS My latest twitter updates

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS My Comments

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS My Guardian Clippings

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
