Bobbywashere Art blog

The Blind Priest

Posted on: September 23, 2008

The Blind Priest - Biro on Paper (2008)

The Blind Priest - Biro on Paper (2008)

I recently attended a wedding, as you do I’m sat in the church in Lincolnshire, which is around middle England, waiting for the bride to arrive. Out walks what I thought was a priest with trendy looking shades which demanded my attention as the light reflected from the sunlight seeping into the church. It was a very iconic image and I instantly recognised the potential this would make as a painting.

It was subsequently pointed out to me the priest was in fact blind, not a funky god preacher, nor was he a priest….he was in fact one of the choir singers…nerveless I had absorbed that initial iconic image and I was going to record it. Of course I added the ‘smoking stick’ as it added a sense of rebellion and made my idea complete.

I intend to create the final painting in due coarse and encourage you to sign up to my updates, top right of navigation, if you would like to know when I have published the final painting or just keep track of my latest observations.

6 Responses to "The Blind Priest"

He has a look of Clint Eastwood… l

ha ha…70steen I didn’t even pick up on that but it defo looks like good old ‘Clint’

Awesome sketch. Reminds me of a young John Constantine from Hellblazer.

This is one of the most striking pieces of portrait art I have ever seen.

Hi Phroggi and thank you for the compliment, I’m not sure who John Constantine is but from memory I believe that’s the dark film featuring Mr. Keanu Reeves…although I could be wrong.

Hello Jack thank you for your kind comment…glad you like the portrait…not sure it is that good…well not yet anyway in its current form (sketch).

BobbyM

Leave a Reply

Art & Artist Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Scoutle

Connect with me at Scoutle.com

Add to Technorati Favorites

blogarama - the blog directory

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

RSS Delicious Social Bookmarks

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS My latest twitter updates

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS My Comments

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS My Guardian Clippings

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
