Bobbywashere Art blog

Miami Street Painting Update

Posted on: October 7, 2008

Acrylic on Canvas, update (2008)

Acrylic on Canvas, update (2008)

Keeping true to my word I will stick the progress of my paintings on this blog (scroll further down to see the previous post on this painting). I had time last night, or shall we say a spare hour to tackle the road side on this particular painting. Its worth me pointing out I will not start another painting until I have completed this piece, its all about focus my art tutors used to drum into me at Art College (they did have a point though as my problem was and still is too many ideas floating about up there).

I will sketch allot of ideas floating about my head or go out in to the world to make studies but I will not even think about starting another painting until this one has been completed to my personal satisfaction.

From this update to my painting in Miami you will notice the road has allot more depth to it and more variation in tone. It still has along way to go but I have added the tyre marks to bring the viewer gaze into the painting conceptual point (where I want your eyes to focus on basically).

Acrylic on Canvas, Progress Zoom (2008)
Acrylic on Canvas, Progress Zoom (2008)

If we look closely at the road which I painted last night we can see the brush strokes used to create the tyre marks. I have intentionally put a tyre mark which is at a curve this is a deliberate and awkward brush stroke but the objective is to draw the spectator’s eye focus up into the painting where the figures are stood which should then carry your eye line across to the painter at the far left. The yellow lines and block need painting and the shadows finishing but I am happy with the progress, the painting depth is starting to emerge in my opinion.

I would be interested to hear your thoughts on the progress update and it’s direction.

9 Responses to "Miami Street Painting Update"

Wow it is coming on great … I wish it had been drummed into me about finishing pieces. My head is so full of ideas and adventures to be had it is a wonder I actually get round to finishing a cup of tea in a day ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks for the feed back 70steen. Hoping to get this one finished by the end of the month…time permitting of coarse.

Had a quick peek into your 70’s site http://diaryofa70steen.blogspot.com/ lots of drinking going on I see… he he

Hope you managed to get your cup of tea with all them crazy ideas going on in your head. Speaking of which better make me self a brew:)

BobbyM

Hi bob,

look how sociable im becoming!

I like the piece. I had a scroll down and i think your studies of the characters are about my favs of your drawing actually. The paintings has a real different feel though. reminds me of Alex Katz a bit and the flat areas remind me of a Peter Blake, particularly his macel duchamp world tour series. I think its the sunny vibe and the ladder guy.

Hi Dean

Socializing is good for you ๐Ÿ™‚

Good Art History knowledge. I havenโ€™t heard of any of them guys but have googled them all and I can see where you are coming from.

Links to the guys Dean has suggested here:

http://www.alexkatz.com/archive/index.html

http://www.artnet.com/artwork/424667776/1100/playing-chess-with-tracey.html

http://www.marcelduchamp.net/artworkspage.php

I guess some of my work has an element of pop to it mainly due to the bright colours and subject matter.

The colours are very bright on all my paintings because I am colour blind, I generally see around 15 % darker and tones become hard to distinguish so all my paintings are very contrasting and bright as a result. The Doc said if I wear one red contact lense it would correct this but I like the world how I see it and it defines my style in my opinion.

BobbyM

What a great blog! Not only is your work interesting, but I’m learning a lot from your comments…
I love the way your colors ‘pop’, so please don’t correct that, at least while you’re painting.

thats really interesting about your colour blindness affecting your painting. Another layer of info behind the work – love it but maybe thats just because I’m so nosey about people lol.
Off on holiday to Cornwall now so I look forward to coming back and seeing your completed painting!

Hi Casey

Thank you for your comment and don’t worry I can assure you I wont be correcting my colour blindness.

Glad you like the blog. A couple of people have commented not only on the artwork but my style of blogging. Taking me by surprise just tell it how it is I guess. It’s my aim to share the creative journey experience and techniques along the way for others to gain from.

I’ve subscribed to your blog as the drawings /studies from life are superb I plan to add more to my own in due coarse.

Chantal.
Good to hear form you again and glad you keep coming back, I like engaging with people who visit this blog. Have good holiday hopeful this painting will be near completion by the time you visitor this space again ๐Ÿ™‚

BobbyM

Beautiful! In case you’re not familiar, you should take a look at these two contemporary US painters: Danny Heller and Warner Williams.

Thanks for the two links to Danny Heller and Warner Williams and I totally agree with your feedback. I have never heard of either of these two painters but have a very similar feel to my own painting, especially Danny Heller.

Guess when allot of people think of America they visualise sky scrapers and big cities, but upon visiting you realise allot of the architecture landscape is flat, or low rise to use a better word and I think this is the common theme picked up by your self as well as the painting style.

Bobby Mookini

Leave a Reply

Art & Artist Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Scoutle

Connect with me at Scoutle.com

Add to Technorati Favorites

blogarama - the blog directory

Recent Readers

View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile View My Profile

RSS Delicious Social Bookmarks

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS My latest twitter updates

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS My Comments

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS My Guardian Clippings

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
